Rhode Island residents are eligible for more than 1,000 undergraduate and graduate degree programs through Tuition Break.

The programs are offered by public colleges and universities in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont — all at a substantial tuition discount. Eligible students are charged a tuition rate that is significantly less than the regular out-of-state tuition rate. Tuition rates and savings vary by institution. Average savings for a full-time student enrolled in the 2019-20 academic year was $8,100.

Find all programs for Rhode Island residents

View information on each participating institution, including their approved programs, tuition rates and contacts.


View an alphabetical list of programs by degree level and area of study, approved for 2020-21:

Associate Programs for Rhode Island Residents

Bachelor’s Programs for Rhode Island Residents

Graduate Programs for Rhode Island Residents


List of new programs approved for Rhode Island residents for 2020-21

Examples of newly approved specialized undergraduate programs are:

Cybersecurity (bachelor’s) at Central Connecticut State University

Cybersecurity is also offered at University of Maine at Augusta and University of Southern Maine

Public Utilities Management (bachelor’s) at Southern Connecticut State University

Public Utility Management (associate) at Gateway Community College, Conn.

Esports Management (associate) at Central Maine Community College

Pharmacy (associate) at Mount Wachusett Community College, Mass.


Information on programs offered by some colleges under the Flexible Policy

The Flexible Programs Policy option is another way for students to be eligible through NEBHE’s Tuition Break, the Regional Student Program (RSP), at certain colleges and universities. The Flexible option, which was approved in 2018 for enrollment starting in the 2019-20 academic year, allows four-year institutions to offer any program to residents of other New England states. Previously only community colleges had this option.

The four-year institutions allowing eligibility under Flexible for 2020-21 include: 12 colleges and universities for selected or most bachelor’s programs and 9 institutions for selected or most graduate programs. Flexible programs are flagged with [F] in the program lists. Click here to see the list of institutions.