The National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements, in collaboration with the four regional higher education compacts (NEBHE, MHEC, SREB and WICHE), was established to develop and implement an effective and efficient reciprocal state-level authorization process for postsecondary distance education. Its mission is to provide broad access to postsecondary education opportunities to students across the country, to increase the quality and value of higher learning credentials earned via distance education, and to assure students are well served in a rapidly changing education landscape.

NEBHE’s Team

Jared Abdirkin, Director, N-SARA

Charlotte Ochs, Program Coordinator Tuition Break & SARA

NC-SARA’s Team


N-SARA Regional Steering Committee


Ed Klonoski, President, Charter Oak State College

Chair- Sean Seepersad, PhD., Division Director of Academic Affairs at the Connecticut Office of Higher Education


Vice Chair– Michael T. Perry, Director, Office of Higher Education & Educator Support Services, Maine Department of  Education


Alexander A. Nally, Deputy General Counsel, Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

New Hampshire 

Nikki Bryant, State Authorization and Compliance Analyst, Southern New Hampshire University

Sara Cowall, Director of State Authorization and Grants, University of New Hampshire

New Jersey

Eric Taylor, Director, Office of Licensure, Office of the Secretary of Higher Education

New York

Andrea Richards, Supervisor of Higher Education Programs, Office of College and University Evaluation,  New York State Education Department

Rhode Island

Cynthia L. Parker, Vice President, College of Online Education, Johnson & Wales University

Rebecca Ryan, Coordinator of Veterans Education and State Approving Agency, Rhode Island Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner


William Clements, Vice-President and Dean of the College of Graduate Studies, Norwich University

Accreditation Representative

Carol Anderson, Vice President, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education, New England Commission on Higher Education (NECHE)

Printable Roster

Charter of the N-SARA RSC

N-SARA Regional Procedure Handbook

Regional Compact Contacts

Sara Appel, Director, M-SARA
Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC)
105 Fifth Avenue South, Suite 450
Minneapolis, MN 55401
612.677.2778 |
Elisa Jaden, Director, S-SARA
Southern Regional Education Board (SREB)
592 10th Street N.W.
Atlanta, GA 30318-5776


Molly Hall-Martin, PhD., Director, W-SARA

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)
3035 Center Green Drive, Suite 200
Boulder, CO 80301
303.541.0308 |


Next generation for SARA

NEBHE engages and assists regional leaders in the assessment, development and implementation of sound educational practices and policies of regional significance. SARA is one step forward in the world of state authorization. Continual engagement of thought leadership in the next generation of SARA is key.

Join us in the next steps or our journey. Please share your feedback with us by clicking here.