UMFK, UMass Dartmouth Name New Leaders; AAC&U Taps Pasquerella as Prez

By John O. Harney

Comings and Goings …

John N. Short

The University of Maine System named University of Wisconsin-Fond du Lac CEO and Dean John N. Short to be the new president of the University of Maine at Fort Kent, starting April 1. He succeeds Wilson Hess, who announced his retirement in May.

The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth appointed its senior vice chancellor for strategic management, Gerry Kavanaugh, to serve as acting chancellor, succeeding Divina Grossman, who stepped down from the post.

The Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) chose Mount Holyoke College President Lynn Pasquerella to become AAC&U’s 14th president, succeeding Carol Schneider who has led the group for 18 years and set an agenda for U.S. higher education to provide an inclusive liberal education for all students. Pasquerella is a first-generation student who began her higher education at Quinebaug Valley Community College. She announced she would leave the Mount Holyoke presidency, effective June 30, to be succeeded on an acting basis by Sonya Stephens, vice president for academic affairs and dean of faculty. Pasquerella assumes the AAC&U presidency July 1.


Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>