Maine Chief Justice Steps Down to Become UMaine Law Dean; New Prez Named at Champlain

By John O. Harney

Comings and Goings …

Leigh Saufley, dean of the University of Maine School of Law

The University of Maine System named Maine Supreme Judicial Court Chief Justice Leigh Saufley the new dean of the University of Maine School of Law. Saufley resigned from the Supreme Judicial Court on April 14 to begin her responsibilities as dean April 15.

The Champlain College Board of Trustees named Benjamin Ola. Akande, who is former president of Missouri’s Westminster College and current assistant vice chancellor for international affairs-Africa and associate director of the Global Health Center at Washington University in St. Louis, to be Champlain’s ninth president. He takes over for Laurie Quinn, Champlain’s provost, who has been serving as interim president since July 2019.

Roger Williams University named Lesley University Provost and Vice President Margaret Everett to be the new provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at the university with campuses in Bristol, R.I. and Providence.

Fairfield University announced the appointment of Jill Buban, currently chief academic officer of the Unizin Consortium, as the university’s new vice president for digital strategy and online education, and Andres Carrano, currently a professor and associate dean at Georgia Southern University, as Fairfield’s new dean of its School of Engineering.


Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>