MacArthur Foundation 2010 Fellows Include Six New Englanders

The MacArthur Foundation recently listed its 2010 Fellows on its website. Awardees of the fellowships, sometimes referred to as “genius grants,” range from artists and linguists to historians and scientists.

Among the 2010 awardees are two educators: high school teacher Amir Abo-Shaeer, a physics teacher and director of Dos Pueblos Engineering Academy in Goleta, Calif., and music educator Sebastian Ruth, the founder and artistic director of Community MusicWorks in Providence, R.I.

Of the 24 Fellows this year, six come from New England.  This continues a tradition of New England being highly represented in the recipients. Over the past three years, 14 New Englanders have received this honor out of 72 total recipients.

In addition to Ruth, the 2010 recipients from New England are Jessie Little Doe Baird, Nicholas Benson, Matthew Carter, Annette Gordon-Reed and Nergis Mavalvala.

The full list of 2010 MacArthur Fellows can be found here.


Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>