Brandeis, UConn Among NE Campuses Making Prez Moves

Brandeis University trustees named George Washington University Law School dean Frederick M. Lawrence to succeed Jehuda Reinharz as Brandeis president, beginning after Jan. 1, 2011. Lawrence became dean of the GWU Law School in 2005, after nearly two decades teaching at the Boston University School of Law.

University of Connecticut trustees appointed Philip E. Austin to serve as interim president of the university where he oversaw major growth as president from 1996 to 2007, including shepherding the $1 billion infrastructure improvement and private incentive program known as UConn 2000.

Jo Ann Rooney, former president of Spalding University in Kentucky, took the reins of Mount Ida College after the college’s nine-month search to fill the position.

Debra Townsley, president of Nichols College was  named the new president of Peace College in Raleigh, N.C.

Boston College Law School dean John H. Garvey was appointed president of Catholic University of America—the D.C. college’s first lay leader.


Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>