About the New England Higher Education Excellence Awards

Since 2003, NEBHE has formally recognized people and groups with New England Higher Education Excellence Awards for their exceptional leadership on behalf of higher education and advancement of educational opportunity.

Past Excellence Awardees have included U.S. Sen. George Mitchell of Maine, the late U.S. Sen. Edward M. Kennedy of Massachusetts, U.S. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen of New Hampshire, U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont, the late Sister Janice Ryan, president of Trinity College of Vermont, noted oceanographer Robert D. Ballard, Dartmouth College President emeritus James Wright and Eastern Connecticut State University President Elsa M. Núñez. In 2013, NEBHE honored Donald R. Vickers, then president and CEO of the Vermont Student Assistance Corporation.

The 2023 Higher Education Excellence Award winners:

Connecticut: The Hon. Roberta B. Willis
New Hampshire: Senator Lou D’Allesandro and Robin DeRosa
Vermont: Scott Giles and and Alice Miller

For the list of previous Excellence Award winners, click here.