Mary Grant to Leave EMK Institute

By John O. Harney

Mary K. Grant

Comings and Goings …

The Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the United States Senate announced that Mary K. Grant will step down as its president and CEO and return to higher education. She will be succeeded on an interim basis at the institute by entrepreneur and turnaround specialist Art Buckland. Grant was awarded a 2014 New England Excellence Award while president of Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts. She recently shared her insights with NEJHE in “Young People Are Hungering for Conversation, Even on Difficult Matters … A NEJHE Q&A” and before that (when NEJHE was called Connection) in “Museum Quality: A New Museum and Recharged College Bring Creative Energy to North Adams, Mass.”

Cayuga Community College in central New York named former Southern Maine Community College President Ronald G. Cantor as its next provost and vice president of academic affairs.

The University of Maine at Farmington Division of Graduate and Continuing Education appointed Erin L. Connor as its new associate dean and Kenneth Lewis as its new director of educational outreach. Connor joins UMaine Farmington from the University of New England and Lewis from Thomas College.

Assumption College named Deborah Cady Melzer, who is currently vice president for student development and Title IX coordinator at Le Moyne College in New York, to be the Worcester, Mass. college’s new vice president of student affairs and dean of students.

Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont appointed Colin Cooper, former CEO and now executive chair of aerospace manufacturer Whitcraft Group, to be the state’s first chief manufacturing officer, established by the Legislature to coordinate policy to support and expand a key part of Connecticut’s economy. NEBHE awarded a New England Excellence Award to Whitcraft Group in 2016.


Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>