The New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE) is pleased to announce the 2019 recipients of its annual New England Higher Education Excellence Awards.

Click on any photo in the galleries below to see a larger version of it.

Vermont Excellence Award
Martha O’Connor (posthumously)
Former Chair, Vermont State College Board of Trustees

New England Excellence Award
The Governor’s Institutes of Vermont

The dual presentation ceremony was held on September 26, 2019 at the Woodstock Inn in Woodstock, Vt.

Maine Excellence Award
Wendy L. Ault
Executive Director, MELMAC Education Foundation

The presentation ceremony was held on June 20, 2019 at the Maine State House.

Connecticut Higher Education Excellence Award
The Hartford Promise

The presentation ceremony was held on June 18, 2019 at the Connecticut State Capitol.

New Hampshire Excellence Award
The UNIQUE College Investing Plan (NH)
Fidelity Investments

The presentation ceremony was held on May 15, 2019 at the New Hampshire State House.

Rhode Island Excellence Award
The Rhode Island Promise Scholarship

The presentation ceremony was held on May 14, 2019 at the Rhode Island State House.

Massachusetts Excellence Award
Judith Block McLaughlin
Senior Lecturer on Education & Educational Chair, Harvard University Seminar for New Presidents

The presentation ceremony was held on Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at the Massachusetts State House.

Since 2003, NEBHE has presented Excellence Awards to individuals and organizations, for exemplifying, through their work, excellence in promoting sound education practices and policies, efficient sharing of education resources, and leadership to strengthen the relationship between higher education and the economic well-being of New England.

For the list of previous Excellence Award winners, click here.