Each New England state is represented on the New England Board of Higher Education by eight delegates – leaders of education, business, and government who are appointed by their states’ governors and legislative leadership. They are supported by a staff of dedicated professionals who work closely with public and private partners throughout the six-state region.


Representative Patricia Haddad
Massachusetts General Court

Connecticut Delegates

Senator Mae Flexer
Connecticut General Assembly

Representative Gregg Haddad
Connecticut General Assembly

G. Duncan Harris
Chief Executive Officer
Capital Community College

Elsa M. Núñez
Eastern Connecticut State University

Mark Scheinberg
Goodwin University

Jennifer Widness
Connecticut Conference of Independent Colleges

Gregory S. Woodward
University of Hartford

Maine Delegates

Daniel Chuhta
Deputy Commissioner
(Representing Commissioner Pender Makin)
Maine Department of Education

Senator Mattie Daughtry
Maine Legislature

Rachel Hendrickson

Dannel P. Malloy
University of Maine System

Representative Rebecca Millett
Maine Legislature

The Hon. Joan M. Nass

Karen T. Pardue
Interim Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs
University of New England

James C.Q. Weggler

Massachusetts Delegates

Michael B. Alexander
Lasell University

Frederick W. Clark Jr.
Bridgewater State University

Representative Patricia Haddad
Massachusetts General Court

M. Howard Jacobson

The Hon. Joan M. Menard

Senator Marc Pacheco
Massachusetts General Court

David J. Wahr

New Hampshire Delegates

Stephen Appleby
Director, Division of Educator Support and Higher Education
New Hampshire Department of Education

Representative Oliver Ford
New Hampshire General Court

Michele D. Perkins
New England College

The Hon. Andrew R. Peterson
Vice President
The Petersons, Inc.

Catherine Provencher
Chief Administrative Officer and Vice Chancellor for Financial Affairs and Treasurer
University System of New Hampshire

Mark Rubinstein
Community College System of New Hampshire

Senator David Watters
New Hampshire General Court

Rhode Island Delegates

Kathy M. Collins
Higher Education Consulting Director
Huron Consulting Group

Senator Louis P. DiPalma
Rhode Island General Assembly

Daniel P. Egan
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Rhode Island

Senator Hannah M. Gallo
Rhode Island General Assembly

Shannon W. Gilkey
Rhode Island Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner

Representative June Speakman
Rhode Island General Assembly

Vermont Delegates

Heather Bouchey
Deputy Secretary
Vermont Agency of Education

Senator Thomas I. Chittenden
Vermont General Assembly

Representative Peter Conlon
Vermont General Assembly

Suresh Garimella
University of Vermont

Representative Kathleen James
Vermont General Assembly

Joyce M. Judy
Community College of Vermont

Senator Andrew Perchlik
Vermont General Assembly

Michael Wool
Langrock, Sperry & Wool, LLP

Sophie Zdatny
Vermont State Colleges